Pages

Monday, September 21, 2015

Bitterroot (Part 1), by Heather Hildenbrand & SM Reine


BITTERROOT Part 1
by Heather Hildenbrand & SM Reine

Seventeen year-old Regan Vuk has lived her whole life under the shadow of her future: the pack alpha. She is fast, smart, and determined. According to her own pack members, she is a shoo-in. But Regan’s dad has a secret.

Seventeen year-old Charlie spent her adolescence drifting from place to place with a mother desperate to hide her illegitimate daughter from the unforgiving reality of werewolf pack dynamics. All Charlie has ever wanted is to know her father--and the family that's been kept from her all these years. But most of all, she wants a place to belong in the world. Where she doesn’t have to pretend she can’t sprout fur and paws at will. Being kidnapped on her way home from prom was not she Charlie had in mind.

When Charlie finds out the only way to fit in with her new family is to defeat her long-lost sister for the role of alpha, she refuses. That is until she learns that the strange and alluring vampire she's befriended, Owen, is the same vampire prince that's been promised the winner.

Regan has no doubt that, although she loathes the vampires, it will be her who "wins" Owen. 

Only problem: Charlie's already fallen for him.

My Review:

I want to point out that I love Heather Hildenbrand and SM Reine's books! Heather Hildenbrand's Dirty Blood series and SM Reine's Season's of the Moon and Season's of the Moon: Cain Chronicles series are heavy re-reads of mine. But something about this book and the way it ends just doesn't add up.

The way Charlie gets kidnapped and the way she "falls" for Owen, it just does't feel like a complete story. The story just comes to a screeching halt at the end. It ends the way the synopsis ends: Charlie realizes she loves Owen and that's it. No explanation. It doesn't lead up to the fight.. It is just ends un an abrupt halt. The writing conflicts between both authors so it is weird to one style of writing and then a different one.

I love both author's, but this book doesn't really work. So I give it 2 stars.

Bitterroot is a Young Adult Paranormal with a dose of sibling rivalry... Who will you root for?





Contest! Help spread the word about Bitterroot!

Share the following message on Twitter, FB, or IG OR follow Heather Hildenbrand on any of these platforms and get entered to win a signed swag pack including a paperback of Seasons of the Moon by SM Reine & Dirty Blood! Contest ends 9/26!*

2 sisters. 1 vampires prince. Can family survive forbidden love? #Bitterroot for .99. http://bit.ly/Bitterroot1
*Contest not affiliated with FB, IG, Twitter, or any other outside entity. Must be 13 years or older. Void where prohibited.




Tuesday, September 8, 2015

Release Week Blitz: Sweet Temptation (Sweet Evil, #4) by Wendy Higgins





I am so excited that SWEET TEMPTATION by Wendy Higgins releases today and that I get to share the news, along with an awesome giveaway! If you haven’t yet heard about this wonderful series by Wendy Higgins, be sure to check out all the details below.


This blitz also includes a giveaway for a a paperback of the book with a signed bookplate and bookmarks! US only. So if you’d like a chance to win, enter in the Rafflecopter at the bottom of this post.

About The Book:


Title: SWEET TEMPTATION
Author:
Wendy Higgins
Pub. Date:
September 8, 2015
Publisher:
HarperTeen
Pages: 485
Format:
Paperback, eBook, audiobook

Bad boy Kaidan Rowe has never wanted for anything—money, popularity, musical talent…hot girls—but seducing them is part of his duty as a Nephilim, slave to the demon Dukes. As the son of the Duke of Lust, Kaidan has learned his father’s ways,
becoming a master of passion, a manipulator of chemistry. Disobeying his father would mean certain death. Thankfully for Kaidan, he’s good at his job. And he enjoys it.

Until he meets Anna Whitt—sweet, smart, feisty, and inexplicably good—the one girl seemingly immune to his charms. The daughter of a guardian angel and a fallen one, she has a certain power over him, one that makes him wish for more than he could ever deserve.

Determined to save all the Neph from their dark lives as the influencers of sin, Anna joins forces with Kaidan to overcome the demons’ oppressive ways. In the light of her affections, Kaidan must undergo his toughest test of all, a battle of the heart.

Sensual and swoon worthy, this companion volume to the acclaimed Sweet Evil series from New
York Times bestselling author Wendy Higgins, told from the perspective of the irresistibly sexy and mysterious Kaidan Rowe, gives readers revealing insights into his struggle, his intense connection to Anna, and most of all, the true emotions that drive him.


Author Note:
Sweet Temptation will encompass the entire trilogy in a condensed version, beginning with Kai's life before he met Anna, and taking readers through the epilogue of Sweet Reckoning. Sweet Temptation is a companion novel, not meant to be a stand alone story. It will definitely be a richer experience for those who have read the original trilogy.






Go HERE to read an excerpt fro SWEET TEMPTATION!



Also check out Wendy's PINTEREST board for KAI!




About Wendy Higgins:


Wendy Higgins is the USA Today and NYT bestselling
author of the Sweet Evil series from HarperTeen and her
independently published Irish fantasy, See Me. She is a former high school English teacher who now writes full time, and lives on the Eastern Shore of Virginia with her veterinarian husband, daughter, son, and doggie Rue. 
Wendy earned a bachelor's in Creative Writing from George Mason University and a master's in Curriculum and Instruction from Radford. Writing Young Adult
(YA) stories gives her the opportunity to delve into the ambiguities of those pivotal, daunting, and exciting years before adulthood.

Connect with the
author:


Giveaway Details:

1 Paperback of SWEET TEMPTATION and a signed bookplate and bookmarks. US Only.


Ends on September 18th at Midnight EST!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, August 27, 2015

Cover Reveal: The Other Side Of Gravity (The Oxygen Series) by Shelly Crane


 Title: The Other Side of Gravity
Author: Shelly Crane
Series: The Oxygen Series, Book One
Genre: Sci-Fi
Cover Reveal Date: August 27th
Release Date: TBA


Goodreads Link: http://bit.ly/1NTsnHw




My name is Maxton and I’m a trader.



I live on a soulless planet where gravity, oxygen, and everything else are sold to the highest bidder on the black market. People are sold on the black market, too. You have to work really hard not to become one of those people. Pay your taxes, keep your friends and family close, and more than anything else—don’t get caught by the Militia. But all the rules changed for me the day I found her.

My name is Sophelia and I’m a stowaway.
I’ve been a slave for almost as long as I can remember. Waiting for the one day, one second, for my proprietor to turn his head so I could run and never look back. Now I'm on the run. And on a planet where no one is on your side and people would turn you in for a good meal or a piece of a silver, being on the run on Landu is the last place you want to be. Until he found me.

I won't survive without him.

I can't breathe without her.







Shelly is a NEW YORK TIMES & USA TODAY
bestselling author from a small town in Georgia and loves everything about the
south. She is wife to a fantastical husband and stay-at-home mom to two boisterous
and mischievous boys who keep her on her toes. She hoards paperbacks, devours
sweet tea, searches year-round for candy corn, and loves to spend time with her
family and friends, go out to eat at new restaurants, site-see in the new areas
they travel to, listen to music, and, of course, loves to read, but doesn't
have much time to these days with all the characters filling her head begging
to come out. She is author to over twenty books and counting!




Her own books happen by accident and she revels
in the writing and imagination process. She doesn’t go anywhere without her
notepad for fear of an idea creeping up and not being able to write it down
immediately, even in the middle of the night, where her best ideas are born.








Thursday, August 13, 2015

Blog Tour: Souls Unfractured by Tillie Cole (Hades Hangmen, #3)


BLOG TOUR INFO FOR
Souls Unfractured by Tillie Cole










Title: Souls Unfractured
Series: Hades Hangmen #3
Author: Tillie Cole
Age group: New Adult
Genre: Dark Contemporary Romance
Release date: 11th August 2015













GOODREADS LINK

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22107214-souls-unfractured



BLURB

"For fractured souls are like magnets.
Drawn to collide into an impossible bliss…"

Labeled a ‘Cursed’ woman of Eve from birth, Maddie has endured nothing but pain and repression at the hands of The Order’s most abusive elder, Moses. Now living with her sister in The Hangmen’s secluded compound, finally, Maddie, is free. Free from the suffocating faith she no longer believes in. Free from endless years of physical and mental torment.

Just… free…

At age twenty-one, the timid and shy Maddie is content to live within the confines of her new home—safe from the outside world, safe from harm and, strangely, protected by the Hangmen’s most volatile member; the heavily pierced and tattooed, Flame.

Flame.

The man who ceaselessly watches over her with his midnight dark and searing eyes. The man who protects her with a breath-taking intensity. And the man who stirs something deep within her numbed heart.

But when circumstances conspire for Flame to need HER help, Maddie bravely risks it all for the broken man who has captivated her fragile soul.

The Hangmen’s most infamous member, Flame, is ruled by one thing—anger. Plagued by haunting demons from his past, an all-consuming rage, and isolated by an abhorrent hatred of being touched, Flame's days are filled with suffocating darkness, pierced only by a single ray of light—Maddie. The shy, beautiful woman he cannot purge from his thoughts. The woman he has an overwhelming need to possess…
... the only person who has ever been able to touch him.

Flame’s mission in life is to protect Maddie, to keep her safe. Until a trigger from his troubled past sends him spiraling into madness, trapping him in the deepest recesses of his disturbed mind.

His Hangmen brothers fear that Flame is beyond saving.

His only hope of salvation: Maddie and her healing light.


My Review

If I could give 1 millions stars, I would, but I think 5 will do

Warning: The Hades Hangmen deal with New Religious Movements, Cults and Sects, and Motorcycle Clubs

I was given an Arc for a honest review.

I LOVE Tillie Cole and her Hades Hangmen novels! I have never read anything book series that was so sexy and yet terrifying at the same time. I hope and pray that there will be other books and I recommend this series to anyone over 18 and is looking for something different and new, while also looking for some HOTT men!  I have read all three books, so I am IN LOVE with Styx, but I love Ky and Flame just as much!

Maddie and Flame are two tortured souls who have been to Hell and back. Flame can't be touched and Maddie doesn't trust anyone other her sister, Mae and Lilah. All three "Cursed Sisters" are from a secret Religious Cult where beauty is shunned and believed to tempt men into sin. These "men" are evil and take women because they are the Elders. Maddie got the worst of all the Elder's. He was a sadistic man who took pleasure in hurting Maddie physically, mentally, and emotionally. Flame was a boy that no one understood except his mother. He was also traumatized.

They meet and the flames finally go cold. Literally. Flame cannot be touched of Hell's Flames are in his veins, in his blood. Maddie is only one who can touch Flame and not get hurt by them. Together, Flame and Maddie confront their pasts and demons because they are each other only salvation. While I am still partial to Styx and Mae, Flame and Maddie's story is one is the most relatable. I might never have gone through either of their traumatizing pasts, but the bullying is something that everyone has gone through whether it is the bullied or the bully theme self. The trauma that they both go through affects their adult selves.

Tillie Cole has outdone herself again with Souls Unfractured and can't wait to see whose story is going to be next!!


AUTHOR BIO

Tillie Cole is a Northern girl through and through. She originates from a place called Teesside on that little but awesomely sunny (okay I exaggerate) Isle called Great Britain. She was brought up surrounded by her English rose mother — a farmer’s daughter, her crazy Scottish father, a savagely sarcastic sister and a multitude of rescue animals and horses.

SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS

http://tilliecole.com
https://twitter.com/tillie_cole
https://www.facebook.com/tilliecoleauthor
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7074846.Tillie_Cole



GIVEAWAY HTML

a Rafflecopter giveaway


GIVEAWAY LINK

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/5af6016e103/?






Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Release Day Blitz: Curse of The Sphinx by Raye Wagner







  How long can a monster stay hidden in plain sight?

Seventeen year-old Hope Nicholas has spent her entire life on the run. But no one is chasing her. In fact, no one even knows she exists. With her mom, she’s traveled from town to town and school to school, barely staying long enough to meet anyone, let alone make friends. And she’ll have to keep it that way.

It’s safer.

When her mother is brutally ripped away from her, Hope’s life shatters. Is this the fulfillment of Apollo’s curse? Is Hope being hunted by the shadow monsters of the Underworld? Orphaned and alone, Hope flees again, but this time there’s no one to teach her who to trust—or how to love.

Set in a universe where mythology is alive and well in the modern world, Curse of the Sphinx irresistibly blends action, suspense and romance. Curse of the Sphinx is the first book in the young-adult Sphinx saga.


Hope looked up from the bouquets to see the shadows at the back of the stall shift. A short man dressed in black advanced, his step both graceful and predatory. 

This was not the same man she had seen by the Fish Market earlier, and yet his movements were eerily similar, as were his pale skin and dark eyes. 

Her heart rate doubled, and instinctively, she stepped back. Her conversation with Priska came crashing back to her. She knew what this was. 

“Leto! Hope!” Priska’s petite figure pushed through the crowd toward them. Time seemed to slow. 

Leto took the change from the vendor and turned toward her best friend, her expression morphing from excitement to terror. The paper-wrapped bouquet slipped to the ground.

Hope’s eyes shifted from her mother to her aunt, and her muscles tensed even as her vision tunneled. Out of the corner of her eye, the dark figure was coming straight for them. She suppressed the cry that bubbled up her throat. 

Priska crashed into them, grabbing at both of them with shaky limbs. Her head jerked side to side, her eyes bulging. “Holy Hades! WHAT IN THE NAME OF ALL THE GODS ARE YOU DOING HERE?”


"A fast-paced read with myth and reality seamlessly woven together to create  a story that will appeal to fans of Percy Jackson. I can't wait to see what's next for Hope!" 


-Jen McConnel, author of Daughter of Chaos











Raye Wagner grew up in the suburbs of Seattle, the second of eight children, and learned to escape chaos through the pages of fiction. As a youth, she read the likes of David Eddings, Leon Uris, and Jane Austen. Inspired by a fictional character, Raye pursued a career in nursing, and thought to help the world one patient at a time.

One summer afternoon, a plot dropped into her head, and she started writing. Raye enjoys baking, Tae Kwon Do, puzzles, and the sound of waves lapping at the sand. She lives with her husband and three children in Middle Tennessee.Origin of the Sphinx is her first publication, and the beginning of the Sphinx series. 







 











Origin of the Sphinx




Thursday, June 18, 2015

Tillie Cole's Surprise Cover Reveal!







TITLE
REAP (Scarred Souls #2) by Tillie Cole
RELEASE DATE
November 10th 2015


SYNOPSIS

Raised as a prototype for the Georgian Bratva's obedience drug, 221 fails to think, act or live for himself; his master's perfectly-crafted killing puppet. Standing at six foot six, weighing two-hundred and fifty pounds, and unrivaled in to-the-death combat, 221 successfully secures business for the Georgian Mafiya Boss of NYC, in the dark world of the criminal underground.
Until his enemies capture him.
Talia Tolstaia dreams to break from the heavy clutches of Bratva life. She dreams of another life—away from the stifling leash of her Russian Bratva Boss father and from the brutality of her work at The Dungeon—her criminal family's underground death match enterprise. But when she stumbles upon her family's captive, who is more monster than man, she starts to see the man underneath. A powerful, beautiful, damaged man whose heart calls to hers.

But sacrifices must be made—blood for blood... life for life... Souls for scarred souls...

REAP Pre-Order



25732125


NOW AVAILABLE

RAZE (Scarred Souls #1) by Tillie Cole
*With NEW BONUS SCENE*

PURCHASE LINKS




Friday, June 12, 2015

Release Blitz: Marital Blissaster by Brooklyn Taylor


Marital Blissaster
by Brooklyn Taylor
Release Day Blitz
June 12



Add to Goodreads



Synopsis

Callie Hartley has everything she has ever asked for. She married the one man she knew she couldn’t live without after losing him once and vowing to never let him go again. Her life is exactly what she had hoped for.

Madison Reid pretended she had everything but inside she was a lost soul. She had an unhappy marriage and spent her days resenting her life. She was lonely and under appreciated. She strived for a life of happiness and to make her forget what she passed up years ago, her dreams.

One woman will fight for her marriage that starts to crumble before her eyes while the other throws it away carelessly.

A friendship between them that they thought would last a life time is changed forever by decisions that can’t be reversed. Opportunities enter their lives and they have to determine if the risks are worth the rewards. Can doubt or guilt eat a person alive?

How far would you go to save your marriage?

If you had never truly been loved would you risk it all when you thought you could?




Buy Links




Join the Party on June 12th







Author's Bio
  
I am a Texas girl, mother of 2 amazing kiddos and married to my gorgeous soulmate for almost 20 years. I have a full time job in the medical field. I love to spend my free time reading, being outside and playing with my family and 4 fur babies. I started to write at the
instinct of ""hey maybe I can do that!"" I have enjoyed every step of the journey. I am blessed to have very supportive friends and family that make my like worth living!


Stalk Brooklyn

Goodreads | Amazon | Facebook

#MaritalBlissaster #BrooklynTaylor #NewRelease

Hosted By
















Tuesday, June 9, 2015

Review: Pretty Little Werewolf by Katie Salidas









 All Giselle ever wanted was a family... who can accept her for what she is, a werewolf.
In a world where supernatural creatures are not out and proud, this has been a problem for 16 year old Giselle. A child of the system, she's been bounced from home to home for as long as she can remember. As soon as the moon calls out her inner wolf, it's back into the system she goes.
Against the odds, a new family is found for Giselle. One that may prove the answer to all her dreams and wishes. But this family comes with a deadly secret that could send Giselle six feet under instead of back into the system.
Amid factions of warring witches and werewolves, and deadly curses with no hope for a cure, the way will not be an easy one, but if Giselle can call upon her skills as a lone wolf, she may just be able to unearth the truth keeping her from the one thing she's ever wanted... family.






Review: 4 stars
*Given an ARC in exchange for honest review*

I was skeptical when I read the synopsis, but decided to give this book a try and I'm glad I did. I thought it would be another turning gone wrong and she will have to find a mate to balance her out, but I was surprised that she had the power of an Alpha all on her own and Asher, who is like any other hot brooding male!, tries to keep her away from him and his family. 

Giselle is just looking for a family to call her own, but being a werewolf is hard. Especially, when Asher brings up doubts about her adoptive parents and his family. Both sides have lied to Giselle and the mysterious lone wolf is the only one with answers. 

Now being the hopeless romantic that I am, I hope she will end up with Asher because he is on HOTT list with Daemon (Lux) and Kaiden Rowe (Sweet Evil). While it doesn't end the way I expected or wanted, it is a book worth reading! It has its quirks, but it is a 4 star worthy book.





Purchase on Amazon- http://Amazon.to/1IxZ3Y2
Purchase on Nook http://tinyurl.com/mk6cjfg

Giveaway


About Katie Salidas


Katie Salidas is a Super Woman! Endowed with special powers and abilities, beyond those of mortal women, She can get the munchkin off to gymnastics, cheerleading, Girl Scouts, and swim lessons. She can put hot food on the table for dinner while assisting with homework, baths, and bedtime... And, She still finds the time to keep the hubby happy (nudge nudge wink wink). She can do all of this and still have time to write.
And if you can believe all of those lies, there is some beautiful swamp land in Florida for sale...

Katie Salidas resides in Las Vegas, Nevada. Mother, wife, and author, she does try to do it all, often causing sleep deprivation and many nights passed out at the computer. Writing books is her passion, and she hopes that her passion will bring you hours of entertainment.

You can find out more about Katie Salidas,and her novels at www.KatieSalidas.com



Thursday, April 16, 2015

Beau (Novella of Forever Series) by Brooklyn Taylor



Novella accompanying Forever Series:

“Beau” Synopsis

By Brooklyn Taylor

I am Beau Evans, God’s gift to women and I damn well know it. I am fearless. I would rather be working as the homicide detective in Dallas, Texas than anywhere else. I’m the crazy bastard they call in when no one else wants to go. I’ve seen things that would cause others to commit themselves to mental hospitals. 

I look damn good; thanks to all the time I spend in the gym and the good genes I was blessed with. I screw who I want, when I want, how I want. I call the shots and wouldn’t have it any other way.  I live for me and no one else. I am my own man and do not answer to anyone but myself. I live by these rules and no one will change that.

That is what I had convinced myself of anyway, until I met Piper Dylan. She drives me insane in every way possible. Everything about her annoys me and turns me on at the same time.  She has absolutely no interest in me whatsoever. The more she pulls away and resists me the more I want her. 

My life starts to become unrecognizable and is spinning out of control. I, Beau Evans am becoming something I never wanted and always swore I would never become. I begin fighting for something I am not sure I completely want. Do I walk away for the second time in my life or decide maybe, just maybe, it’s not all about me any longer?


Links:





Also available on Kobo and Nook tomorrow! 



Other books by Brooklyn Taylor:
Eternal Soulmate
Endless Affinity
Unforeseen Destiny

YA-An Ordinary Me

Connect with me on:

Facebook.com\AuthorBrooklynTaylor



Twitter: AuthorBrooklynT
Instagram: Authorbrooklyntaylor


Excerpts:
Beau fucking Evans was standing outside a crime scene, crying like a pussy. The other officers on the scene were staring at me, trying to compute what was happening. Piper and I were finally on the same page when I got the call on the radio on my way driving home after my workout. I tried to get to the scene as fast as I could, not knowing how I was going to deal with the situation I was about to face.  Fellow officers were outside the scene, securing the block. I got out of my car and ran to the front of the scene to see what else I could find out. This could not be happening. The only thing I could think of was seeing her face. 
Rodgers walked up to me, shaking his head with a look of disappointment on his face. 
Oh my God, what is he going to tell me? 
How could he possibly tell me she was dead? I get it… I get what Cooper and Kyle were saying now. I get why McKoy tried to hold on to me like she did. She loved me then the way I loved Piper now. I couldn’t picture my life without her. 
When Rodgers reached me, he put his hand on my shoulder and I froze. Here it goes… I hoped I could hold myself together.
“Damn, Evans. This shit sucks. I can’t believe this happened. We always try to make sure the scene is cleared before our detectives go in. We thought we had…” He was choking up. “The victim had already been removed from the scene and they were doing the investigation. I was doing the normal, collecting as much evidence as I could while letting them work.”
I swallowed hard, trying to keep the lump in my throat under control. I was a grown-ass man about to lose it. 


#2
I moved up and let myself free from my blue jeans. I felt like I could break a stack of blocks with my hard-on and hoped to God she could accommodate me. She isn’t the only woman that had claimed to be able to handle me but not been able to hack it.  
I had never felt a woman as ready for me as I slid in her moistness. She gripped my ass and guided me to the speed she wanted. She pushed me in so deep, grinding her hips against me. I could have sworn I was seeing stars. The sensation was so intense and nothing like I had ever felt. I had entered Heaven. 
She kissed my neck and bit my lip, sucking as she let go. Her rhythm was steady with mine, and when I brought her to climax, she leaned her head back. I could see her eyes rolling back in her head with satisfaction.
“Feel good, baby?”
“Evans….”
“Yes.”
“Faster… I want more.”
I moved faster and faster until I finished and moved slowly back and forth to get the full effects of the amazing feeling.
I stood up all the way, and she wrapped her arms around my neck. 
She giggled.
“Well?” I asked her.
“Well?”
“Was I as good as I said I would be?” I confidently ask, already knowing my answer.
“I’ve had better.” 

“Really? Who? Give me a few minutes and I’ll try again.”